Dores Inn

Excuse the silence, folks.  Busy, busy up here just now. 

No recipe today.  Just a recommendation for somewhere to eat if you’re ever visiting the Inverness area.

Dores is a small village on the banks of Loch Ness.  It’s only 10 minutes from my house and David and I often go for a walk along the stony beach there throwing sticks into the icy waters for Marco to rescue.  

The wee pub at the entrance to the pebbly beach has always been a lovely place for a pint or a coffee but, quite frankly, the food used to suck.  No more!  Having been taken over by the folk who run the fabulous Ross-shire Storehouse, Dores Inn now serves reasonably priced, locally sourced, highly tasty food. 

Delighted.

Won’t say anymore.  Think you’ll get the idea from the few pictures I remembered to take.  🙂

 

 

13 thoughts on “Dores Inn

  1. Your blog makes me want to move back to Scotland. I’ve been following it for a while and loving it! We got our Maine Coon kitten around the same time you got Marco – he looks beautiful! Love your photos too :o)

  2. Right now Dores seems the furthermost place in the world from very hot NSW Aus! If I ever (I wish) make to the Inverness area, I’ll be sure to add this place to the list of things to do!

  3. Angela – Hello! And thank you. I’m off to Google Maine Coon cats now. Never heard of them. 🙂

    Holler – Oh, do. It’s a lovely spot and the pub’s great.

    Em – Anywhere hot and sticky seems like a universe away from here too! Hope the thought of Dores cooled you down for a second. 🙂

    Johanna – Some day, perhap? 🙂

  4. I hope you don’t mind me admiring your site. I just want to let you know that I added it as a link to my cooking blog. I look forward to more posts. Thanks for sharing your wonderful creativity.

Leave a comment