REALLY Good Ribs

 I write this next post rather sheephishly.  A few months ago Katie and Lindsay announced a new blogging event:  Seasoned Eating.  Those who registered had to send a herb or spice to a fellow blogger along with a recipe using the ingredient.  As excited as I was about the event, when I received my weird smelling package (hickory salt) from Peter  at Kalofagas with a  recipe for roasted ribs I was in full-on Christmas mode followed by holiday-mode and I totally missed the submission date for the spice posts.  My apologies to you both, Katie and Lindsay

It was truly my loss though for these ribs are FANTASTIC!!!  Tender, spicy and flaking gently off the bone, I was literally groaning in happiness eating these this evening.  There is no going back.  🙂

In the following recipe the amounts are unspecified.  This is because I’m not entirely sure what to recommend.  I had a small rack (300g) to myself for dinner tonight but I didn’t eat anything else other than steamed greens.  I reckon this amount would do two for a starter though.  And the spices should be delicately but evenly spinkled over whatever you are cooking. 

Roasted Pork Ribs

Pork ribs, in a rack (see above for amounts)

Hickory Salt

Thyme

Paprika

Ground Pepper

Garlic Powder

BBQ Sauce

  • Use a sharp knife to remove the silvery layer of fat from the ribs.
  • Sprinkle a thin, even layer of each spice/herb over the ribs and rub in well.  Turn the ribs and repeat.
  • Leave to marinate for at least an hour.
  • Preheat the oven to 190oC.
  • Place the ribs in a baking tray and cover with foil.  Roast for 1 hour. 
  • Remove the foil and roast for 20 more minutes. 
  • Brush the ribs with BBQ sauce.  Roast for 10 more minutes. 
  • Remove from oven and cool slightly before cutting the ribs up
Thank you, Peter!

17 thoughts on “REALLY Good Ribs

  1. Wendy….I recognize those bare bones!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the ribs and now all of Scotland’s going to ask “when is Wendy opening her own rib shack”!lol

  2. I love and soooo miss the smell of hickory. We used to burn it in our fireplace (occasionally, hickory is expensive). And hickory ribs…. I’m drooling….
    I think I could get to your place in under a day… but alas, I see there are non left. What did I expect?!?

  3. mmm I love ribs, and now I am craving them! I blame you and thank you at the same time. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog therefore I’ve tagged you – check it out on my blog.

  4. Gorgeous! Liked the photo of the cleaned ribs. 🙂 Pity my husband doesn’t like them! As I love them and only seem to eat them when ordering Chinese. Maybe I will just have to force him to eat them for dinner one night.

  5. This is such a favourite with my daughter and she’d be drooling over a plate full of those ribs. Thanks for sharing the recipe i must try this one out 🙂

  6. Joanna – Thanks for the tag!

    Pixie – My boyfriend isn’t keen on ribs either. He doesn’t think there’s enough meat. I don’t get it.

    Rosie – You’re very welcome! 🙂

  7. Ribs are one of our favorite outdoor grill dishes. I have not tried them in the oven, but now that you had such success, I must try. Hickory salt, that sounds great! What a great “Seasoned Eatings” gift you recieved from that talented Peter!

  8. Manggy – Thank you! It was my first time making ribs and I was really pleased with the result.

    Annemarie – Ribs are fun food, I think. 🙂

    Deb – I was delighted, I must say!

  9. Wendy, this post made me laugh out loud due to the last photo. What a great picture! Not sure what I have to do about being tagged. Is it like a game of tig?

  10. Peter – I’m putting a standing order in now!

    Shona – It’s a bit like tig. All you do is complete the same task (i.e. name 8 things that make you happy) on one of your posts. You could do 8 as a family or 8 each (that’d be funny!). Then at the end of the post you nominate another blogger to do the same task. But if you don’t know any other bloggers, don’t bother. 🙂
    The river boat story had me wetting myself, btw.

    JennDZ – They were REALLY good, I must say.

Leave a comment