Part 1: Sweden. Ja…

 

 Again, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.  First stop was Karlstad to catch up with some old friends over walks, good food and good wine. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The sauce in this next picture was perfect with the smoked salmon steaks.  Simply mix a tablespoon or so of cloudberry jam (if you can’t find it, they sell it in Ikea!) into a pot of creme fraiche.  That’s it.  Yum.

 

 

 One night I was invited out to a friend’s family home in the Hammarö penninsula for a crayfish party.  A VERY Swedish affair.

 

 

 

The family had a new member: Ada the Schnauzer, A.K.A. The Black Devil!  She’s a wee terror!

 

 

 

 

 The moon was hung up.

 

 

 We were made to wear silly hats and bibs.

 

 

 An enormous amount of scarlet crayfish were brought out on a platter topped with flowering dill.

 

 

 These small but delicious morsels were, rather worryingly, washed down with large amounts of schnapps consumed after guests had belted out traditional Swedish drinking songs and toasted “Skål!” to all.  Great fun.

 

 

My visit to Stockholm the next day was short but sweet.  Coffee with a friend in my favourite Gamla Stan (old town) café.

 

We raked through vintage clothes shops on Södermalm and laughed at all the things we would never wear.

 

 

 

All too soon it was time to leave though. I got on the ferry to Finland and, despite the cold wind, stayed on deck until Stockholm had disapeared and the sun had gone down.

 

 

 

 

PS. Annemarie was asking for some recommendations for places to eat in Stockholm.  For traditional Swedish husmankost I really enjoyed Pelikan on Södermalm.  Beware though: it’s heavy!  Not traditional but worth a mention – Thai restaurant Koh Phangan has great food and is a really fun place to eat.

For lunch or coffee on Gamla Stan the adjacent cafes Kaffekoppen and Chokladkoppen serve great sandwiches and soups.  But with its vast greenhouses, beautiful gardens and outdoor seating, Rosendals on Djurgården is THE perfect place for a summer lunch.

17 thoughts on “Part 1: Sweden. Ja…

  1. That’s a part of the world I’ve never been to and it looks really beautiful – makes me want to go! By the way, I nominated you as a Rockin’ Girl Blogger. Swing by my site to check it out. Congratulations!

  2. Wendy – those photos tell the story! You have become quite the photo journalist! I really liked the blue vase with flower on the blue cloth! Sunsets…when I get back to Key West, soon, I will have to capture some of those sunsets for you. They make you go…ahhh!

  3. Amanda – It is a very lovely part of the world. The Swedish lifestyle is one of the draws too. Everything is so beautiful! And thank you so much for the nomination! You said some very very sweet things on your post which I deeply appreciate!

    Deb – I wondered about writing more but then decided the pictures said enough. Glad you agree! Looking forward to those Key West Sunsets.

    Jenn – Tusen takk! Part two will be about my days in Finland where I used to work! 🙂

  4. We’ve been to Norway – still have family there but have always wanted to see Sweden and Finland. We’ve have friends who summer on Haroe (is that correct?!? – it’s an island between Sweden and Finland)

    Maybe some day…in the meantime I’ll travel through your beautiful photos!

  5. Lovely pics! Glad you enjoyed your trip here this time too, I totally agree about Rosendal, one of my favourite places for lunch/coffee now and then. Choklad- and Kaffekoppen ain’t too bad either:)
    You didn’t had a go at lovely Chaikhana teahouse in Old Town? – great place!

  6. Katiez – Not sure! The archipelago is huge. So many islands! Recommend going anywhere in that part of the world though. 🙂

    Pia – Thanks you! And I actually did go to Chaikana! Bought some very expensive Lapsand Souchung tea to take home.

  7. Evocative, beautiful photographs. A part of the world I’d love to visit and one that obviously means a great deal to you.

    Congrats on your very well deserved Rockin’ Blogger Girl Award Wendy!

  8. Wendy- your photos are just outstanding! You capture the place so beautifully/ That crayfish platter has left me at a loss for words. I can’t think of anything more delicious!

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us! I look forward to what’s to come!

  9. Lucy – Thank you. It really is a very special part of the world for me and I’m glad that shows. Was very chuffed by Amanda’s nomination and kind words. Congrats to you too!! 🙂

    Truffle – Thank you! The crayfish platter had me staring open mouthed before getting my camera out and taking a million photos. 🙂

    Anh – Hopefully one day you’ll make it! Thank you!

    Cynthia – Thank you. I’m very glad you enjoyed them.

    Johanna – Sorry about the itchy feet syndrome. In my defense, I am desperate to try out some Melbourne restaurants due to yours and Truffle’s posts! 😉

    Zarah Maria – Copenhagen (that’s where you are, right?) is lovely too. Went there for the first time at Easter and would definitely like to know Denmark better.

  10. I just had a wonderful trip through your photos. Crawfish are my favorite things in the whole wide world to eat. Every year, I have a big box (10lbs) sent overnight from New Orleans to my home. I host a big huge crawfish boil.

  11. Thank you so very much, for the pictures and the recommendations! Your travels look wonderful and I am completely in the holiday mindset looking at you shots of Sweden and Finland. Also, the mushroom post is much appreciated since there are apparently loads of chanterelles around the house in Sweden we’re renting. You’re a real treasure trove me me this week, Wendy!

Leave a comment