The Famous Four

 

I’m doing my very best to get back into the swing of things at school but it’s tougher than I had anticipated.  Probably because I didn’t anticipate it being tough at all.  School ended on such a high last term that I was really quite excited to be going back and expected just to pick up where I left off.  Forgot that’s not how it works.

So, I’m a busy busy bee just now trying whip my classes back into shape (metaphorically speaking, you understand!).  Perfect time for a meme.   Thank you to Sophie at Mostly Eating, Antonia at Food Glorious Food and Celia at Purple Podded Peas for tagging me.  🙂

Four Jobs I’ve Had in My Life

  1. Cinema usherette – The perfect student job: watch films, eat popcorn and, if need be, study by torch in the back row. 
  2. Teacher of English as a Foreign Language – I wanted to live abroad for a while after university.  This seemed like the best option.  I’m a bit of a grammar geek now.  🙂
  3. Summer school head-teacher  – 16 hour days and I still couldn’t get everything done!
  4. English teacher – My current job.  Hard work but great fun and very rewarding. 

Four Places I Have Lived

  1. Hokkaido, Japan
  2. Ottawa, Canada
  3. Turku, Finland
  4. Various locations in the north of Scotland (currently Inverness)

Four Places I Have Been On Holiday

  1. New York City
  2. Iceland
  3. New Zealand
  4. Thailand (see photo)

Four Of My Favourite Foods

  1. Purple sprouting broccoli
  2. Pasta
  3. Blueberries
  4. Black pudding

Four Places I Would Rather Be

I am currently sitting on my sofa with a cup of tea.  So very tired I don’t really want to be anywhere else!  Instead I’ll tell you four places D and I are debating going to next summer:

  1. West coast of the US
  2. Nepal
  3. India
  4. Laos

Realise I’ve been really lazy here by not expanding on my answers.  I’m too sleepy to do so right now!  If you’re curious about anything, ask away!

Will tag four bloggers that I haven’t tagged before: Little Mainyacha; Holler at Tinned Tomatoes; Amanda at Figs Olives Wine and Johanna at Green Gourmet Giraffe.  Apologies if you’ve already completed this meme.  🙂

15 thoughts on “The Famous Four

  1. Hi Wendy, Thanks for that! I will work on it, although I don’t think my answers will be anywhere near as interesting as yours!
    I know have it can be to get that tired! Hope you get that much need burst of energy! Personally, I think we could do with an extra day in the week (off work, of course)!
    How was your walk? I am nearly crippled from mine! I think a hot bubble bath is in order!

  2. Hi Wendy. it’s always nice to know a bit more about you. Good luck with the new term of teaching. I have been tagges for this MeMe too, so I should get to it soon. Since you said that we could ask – what was it like living in Japan compared to all the other places?

  3. Hi Wendy – thanks for taking part and writing an interesting list. Living in Japan and Finland – quite a contrast I would think – but I suppose that saunas are a bit like hot baths, so there’s something in common, and fish of course, not so different after all.
    Your food answers could easily have been in my list too!
    I wonder where you’ll end up going for your next holiday?

    Celia

  4. You’re so well traveled! I’ve been wanting to go to Laos, India, and Nepal for ages. I can help with the west coast of the US though. LA ain’t my cup of tea, but Santa Barbara area, San Francisco, and wine country are amazing. I spent the millenium there on a vineyard. Picnic and wine tasting heaven.
    Thanks so much for tagging me! I will do my best to get to it – I’m all over the map for the next 4 weeks.

  5. Holler – Looking forward to reading yours! It was a mountain bike ride I went on and it went really well. I’ve lost less strength in my legs than I feared over this lazy, lazy summer! 🙂

    Nora B – Japan was.. Hmmm, Japan was… It’s hard to explain! When I first moved there I was surprised at how western the country was but then after I’d been living there for a while I realised that the westernisation is only skin deep and that people thought/acted in a way that was totally new to me. Loved being there. It was a fascinating place and the people are extremely friendly (especially when you are one of only a few foreigners in town). Knew I was always going to be an outsider though and that’s why I left. Does that answer your question?

    Anh – Thank you! I’m glad. 🙂

    Cynthia – It’s a thought, isn’t it!

    Mainyacha – Looking forward to reading it!

    Celia – There were quite a few more similarities between the countries indeed. Thanks again for tagging me.

    Amanda – Thanks for the advice. It was the winetasting movie “Sideways” which first got me thinking about going to the west coast. Christina’s photos on “A Thinking Stomach! has inspired me some more. 🙂
    Good luck with all the travelling this month!

  6. Hi Wendy, I’m glad you had time to join in the meme in between taming your new class.

    I haven’t had black pudding for ages but used to have it lots when I was a kid and we lived in Scotland. Can you still get it in a three pack with a slice of sausage meat and a slice of clootie dumpling? My Mum used to get me those as a treat, happy days!

  7. thanks Wendy – what an eclectic list of places you have – I once was offered a job in a cinema and told I would hate the smell/sight of popcorn if I took it – I ended up taking another job so never got that luxury of being paid to watch movies – but sometimes wish I had!

    By the way, I was once told that the amount of time you take for holidays is the amount of time it takes to get over your holidays – maybe that is why you are still settling back at school!

    and thanks for the tag – will try and get onto the meme but probably not straight away – will let it stew a little first while I catch up on some blogging

  8. Hi Wendy, yes you did answer my question. I asked you about Japan because it was such a contrast to the other place you mentioned. I’ve only ever been to Narita airport (many, many times) but never travelled in Japan before.

  9. Sophie – You do! The black pudding in those packs isn’t as good as my local butchers though. 🙂

    Johanna – That person was wrong. I still love popcorn!

    Nora – Recommend a visit, for sure.

  10. Hi Wendy,

    Enjoyed reading your answers. You have certainly lived in some interesting and varied places. Hope you get back into the swing of things soon. I can’t say I am looking forward to returning to work tomorrow following my holiday!

  11. Pingback: Famous Four - Take Two « A Wee Bit of Cooking

Leave a comment