Thai Green Curry & Tammy’s Tail

I’m in a dog place just now.  Or at least, I will be in a few short hours.  Humour me whilst I explain.  🙂

 Tammy arrives today.  Tammy the Golden Retriever with the most waggy tail in the world and absolutely no spacial awareness whatsoever.  Everything tail height (plants, ornaments, lamps…) must be secured or moved before her arrival or risk being swept into oblivion by her excited bum waggling.  She’s such a sweetie!

 

 

Once Tammy, whose travelling companions are my lovely Aunt Val and Uncle Henry, leaves I will be heading down to Aberdeenshire to spend a couple of days with my best friend (Hi Gen!) and her adorable Working Cocker Spaniel, Rufus.

 

 

And then, on Tuesday, I’ll be picking up Rosie (my brother’s cocker spaniel) and taking her home with me for A WHOLE WEEK! 

 

A WHOLE WEEK!  Those of you who know me (or who read my recent meme) will understand just how excited I am about the prospect of 10 days with dogs.

To enable myself to make the most of every moment with my first doggy companion I planned our meals for the weekend carefully.  Thai green curry (made in advance) on Friday night and a Greek BBQ (very low maintenance) on Saturday night.

Thai green curry is a dish I have been making for years now; it’s very easy.  Only recently though have I begun to make my own curry paste and I don’t think I’ll be going back to shop bought paste anytime soon.  I was always perfectly happy with the Asian food store green curry paste but the homemade stuff has a freshness, a bite that preprepared paste simply cannot have.

I ought to say now that I am a chilli wimp.  Some heat is good but my tolerance is fairly low.  The following paste is seriously potent stuff.  My head almost exploded when I foolishly dipped my finger into my homemade green curry paste and tasted it.  Wow!  It was hot!  Painfully so!  Several minutes were spent running around my house and garden with my tongue hanging out, trying desperately to recover.  It was almost as awful as the time I got a chilli seed lodged in my eye.  Don’t recommend that either.

A couple of hints before I give you the recipes:

  • Though the coconut milk goes a long way to cooling this dish down, add the paste a tablespoon at a time and taste until you find the perfect strength for you.
  • Buy chicken thighs with bones and skin so that once you remove the unwanted parts you can use them  and a few veggies to whip up a stock for the dish.
  • The curry paste freezes really well.  
  • It goes without saying that this sauce makes a mean prawn  or vegetable curry too.

Thai Green Curry Paste

3 stalks of lemongrass

Big thumb of ginger or galangal, peeled and chopped

6 green chillies, seeds removed

3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 onion, finely chopped

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp coriander

Handful of fresh coriander

Zest and juice of one lime

Generous grinding of pepper

1 tsp salt

2 tblspn olive oil

  • Whizz all the ingredients in a food processor until it forms a speckled green paste.

Thai Green Chicken Curry

(for 4)

Ground nut oil

8 chicken thighs, skin and bone removed, cut into large chunks

150g of mushrooms, halved

400ml tin of coconut milk

200ml chicken stock

6 kaffir lime leaves

2 tblspns Thai fish sauce

Handful of basil, chopped

Handful of coriander, chopped

150g green beans

  • Brown the chicken in the oil and remove with a slotted spoon.
  • Brown the mushrooms in same pan.
  • Add the chicken back into the pan and stir in two heaped tablespoons of the curry paste.  Stir to combine.
  • Add the coconut milk, stock, kaffir lime leaves, fish sauce and herbs.  Stir well. 
  • Bring to the boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 mins. 
  • Taste sauce regularly and add curry paste until the dish is perfectly hot.
  • Add the green beans and simmer for another 7 minutes.

Serve with lots of Thai jasmine rice (the easiest and nicest rice to make, I think).

* This is my entry for Weekend Herb Blogging event hosted by the fabulous Susan at Food Blogga.

* A big thank you to Dad for supplying me with pics of Tammy and Rosie! x

26 thoughts on “Thai Green Curry & Tammy’s Tail

  1. Wendy have a wonderful time with EVERYONE !!! I so look forward to “doggie” stories! I have not been a big fan of curry, but I may have to try again after seeing your lovely dishes! Have a great weekend!

  2. enjoy your doggy time – all your doggy pals look so adorable I would love to spend some time with them too.

    And the thai curry sounds like a great idea – I’ve never made my own paste but the idea of being able to freeze it sounds like just the thing for me – your recipe looks like a good one – I seem to spend my life checking curry paste labels in hope they wont include shrimp paste so home made is probably the way to go!

  3. Deb – Thank you! You might like the this dish despite not being a fan of curries in general. It’ creamy and fresh and not too hot.

    Johanna – Thank you too. I’d invite you round if you weren’t several thousand miles away.
    Definitely recommend making the curry paste. The taste is so much fresher.

    Cynthia – It’s certainly a filling dish!

  4. Hi Wendy,
    You are certainly going to have a doggy time, better have some treats at the ready!
    The curry paste sounds good and the list of ingredients doesn’t sound too long! Great!
    Chilli in the eye, is the worst!

  5. Gen – Looking forward to seeing you guys too!

    Egeefay – Will take a look at the site. Thanks.

    Holler – Got some chicken in my pockets! Chilli in the eye IS the worst. Mainly because it’s impossible to remove without more pain because your hands are covered in chilli oil. Very grateful it has only happened once. 🙂

  6. It’s looks just wonderful. I was so jazzed when I first tasted Thai Green Curry Chicken, I think it might even be the first Thai dish I ever tasted. But I have to confess, I haven’t made my own curry paste (yet!) Saving this recipe now!

  7. Hi,

    reading your recipe/list of ingredients, I’ve just realised that tonight i made sth similar… and it was delicious! we had it with salmon, and not chicken, and it was very soupy! yum

  8. I know just how excited (and busy) you’re going to be!

    Before Poppy (small jack russell) came to live with us, I knew something was missing…just couldn’t quite put my finger on it.

    Chilli in the eye! Bugger. Beautiful green curry recipe!

  9. The dogs are all so lovely. 🙂 Yes home made green curry paste tastes a lot better and tastier. I made this the first time a few weeks ago on my blog The Cooking Ninja and I don’t regret it. Like you said, the paste is so easy to make and I have 5 tubs of paste in my freezer waiting for me to use it 🙂 I got it worst with the green chillies. I have cut my finger without realizing it and was handling the green chilies and taking out the seeds (the seeds are the hottest part of the chili) and boy, my finger burn for hours that numerous washing with soap doesn’t get rid of the spicy sensation. In the end I decided to try dipping my finger in milk to see whether that helps. I’m not sure if it helped or not but my finger was less sting than before.

  10. Susan – Hope you enjoy it! Thanks again for a great round up.

    Maninas – It is really soupy, isn’t it. Great for mixing with sticky jasmine rice.

    Lucy – Love the name Poppy for a dog! The chilli incident wasn’t my finest moment. Lots of expletives.

    Cooking Ninja – Welcome! There’s no turning back from the homemade past for me. Sooo much fresher. Sympathise completely with your chilli incident!

  11. Hi Wendy, can you believe it that I haven’t made green curry before? I tend to stick to Indian curries. I think that your recipe will be a good place to start. thanks!

  12. Thanks for the green curry paste recipe. I love green curry with pork and eggplant, and as my eggplants are coming in droves right now, I’ve had a hankering for it. Now I can make my own paste!

    You wrote that the paste freezes well. How long does it last in the refrigerator?

    Thanks!

  13. Christina – The paste will be fine for 4 or 5 days in the fridge. Make sure you cover it well though! It’s pungent stuff! In the freezer it’ll be fine for a couple of months.

  14. Pingback: Thai-Spiced Squash and Coconut Soup « A Wee Bit of Cooking

  15. Pingback: My Dog « A Wee Bit of Cooking

  16. I’ve been lurking around your site for a couple of months now and I have just used your green curry paste (made a couple of months ago) in my trusty Nigel Slater “stir fried chicken with basil” recipe and my DH (who has been subjected to this brilliant recipe on MANY occasions) pronounced it the best ever so I’m glad I have lots more cubes in the freezer.

  17. Phet – Would be interested to hear. 🙂

    Agaqueen – Wonderful! Am very glad it’s not just me that thinks so! Don’t know the Slater recipe. Will have to look it up.

Leave a comment